Transaction cost estimates for companies, projected from public filingsContent updated Sep 15, 2026 · Data checked Sep 15, 2026
Deal Cost Index M&A · IPO · Private capital · Chapter 11

Virtual data rooms · 25 vendors

How much does a virtual data room cost?

For a 20 GB room used by 2 admins for 6 months, published list prices from the 8 vendors whose plans fit come to $528–$39K billed month to month. On annual plans, which bill a full 12 months even for a 6-month project, the range is $720–$62K across 8 vendors.

13 of 25 vendors list a price for a data room plan on their own site and 9 quote on request. Third-party estimates with a named public source are shown separately and never mixed with list prices.

$528–$39K8 of 13 vendors that publish prices have a plan covering 20 GB and 2 admins for 6 months, monthly where offered. Totals include every month billed.

How the totals are calculated

Each total is what you would pay a vendor for the months it bills, not the months you use the room. A monthly plan bills the months you use; an annual plan bills 12 months at a time; a quarterly plan bills 3 months at a time; a fixed-term price table bills the shortest listed term that covers your project.

Every vendor is priced at the lowest listed plan whose stated storage and seat limits cover your inputs. Other limits a plan lists — documents, file size, rooms, features — are shown next to the price and are not checked, so a plan that fits on storage and seats may still not suit your process. Extra seats or storage are added only when the vendor publishes their price; otherwise the row says a quote is required. Euro prices are converted at the European Central Bank reference rate of €1 = US$1.1551 on 2026-09-14.

What each vendor would cost for this room

Log scale. Points are totals for the months billed from each vendor’s published prices; bars are third-party estimate ranges with a named source. Order follows the computed price only.

Published list price, total for the months billed

Peony
US$528
Papermark
US$1,033
SecureDocs
US$2,400
Digify
US$3,000
Dillien
US$4,158
FirmRoom
US$14,970
Fordata
US$25,609
Ansarada
US$38,604

Third-party estimate, quote-only vendors

$100$1,000$10K$100K

Open points: the vendor does not state a storage limit for that plan.

Prices are as published by each vendor on the date shown and are computed for the inputs above. Vendors change prices, and discounts, taxes, overage and add-on charges may apply; confirm any figure with the vendor before relying on it. Estimates for quote-only vendors come from third parties and may not match an actual quote. Certifications and ownership are as stated by each vendor and have not been independently verified. The order is not a ranking or recommendation, and no vendor has paid to be included or positioned.

Vendors with published prices

Ordered by computed total in US dollars. “Billed” is the number of months the plan charges for; “limits not checked” lists plan limits other than storage and seats.

VendorPlanMonthsPriceTotalTotal (US$)NotesSource
PeonyBusinessUse 6 · billed 6MonthlyUS$44 × 2 admins a monthUS$528US$528Limits not checked: document limit 1000; file size limit 2 GB; room limit 3 per adminPricing page2026-09-15
PapermarkData RoomsUse 6 · billed 6Monthly€149 per plan a month€894US$1,033Pricing page2026-09-14
DocSendAdvanced Data RoomsUse 6 · billed 6MonthlyUS$300 per plan a monthUS$1,800US$1,800Limits not checked: storage limit not stated Pricing page could not be read on 2026-09-14 or 2026-09-15 (security check); figures last read on 2026-08-27.Pricing page2026-08-27
SecureDocs3 Month PlanUse 6 · billed 6QuarterlyUS$400 per plan a monthUS$2,400US$2,400Limits not checked: storage limit not stated; room limit 1 roomPricing page2026-09-14
DigifyTeamUse 6 · billed 6MonthlyUS$500 per plan a monthUS$3,000US$3,000Limits not checked: file size limit 5 GB; room limit 10Pricing page2026-09-15
Virtual VaultsBasicUse 6 · billed 6Fixed term (6 months)€527 per plan a month€3,162US$3,652Pricing page2026-09-14
DillienStandard (fixed monthly price)Use 6 · billed 6Monthly€600 per room a month€3,600US$4,158Limits not checked: room limit 1 per subscription (priced per data room)Pricing page2026-09-14
FirmRoom10GBUse 6 · billed 6MonthlyUS$995 per room a month10 GB over 10 GB at USD 150/GB/monthUS$14,970US$14,970Limits not checked: room limit 1 data roomPricing page2026-09-14
FordataLITEUse 6 · billed 6Monthly€275 per room a month19 GB over 1 GB at EUR 180/GB/month€22,170US$25,609Limits not checked: room limit 1 VDRPricing page2026-09-14
Ansarada20 GBUse 6 · billed 6Fixed term (6 months)US$6,434 per plan a monthUS$38,604US$38,604Limits not checked: room limit 1 data room Prices from the vendor’s pricing guide dated 2026-05-07. The guide says a 12-month term can reduce the monthly rate by 50%; its own table shows 30–53% depending on storage, and the table is used.Pricing page2026-09-14
SmartRoomSpecial pricing, per transactionUse 6One-time, per transactionUS$1,000 one-time, per transactionUS$1,000US$1,000Listed price requires qualification Limits not checked: storage limit not statedPricing page2026-09-14
CapLinkedEnterpriseUse 6 · billed 6MonthlyUS$500 per plan a monthUS$3,000US$3,000Starting price onlyPricing page2026-09-14
ClinkedVirtual Data RoomUse 6 · billed 6MonthlyUS$719 per plan a monthUS$4,314US$4,314Starting price only Limits not checked: storage limit not statedPricing page2026-09-15
DroomsStarterUse 6 · billed 6Monthly€0 per plan a monthNo listed plan covers these inputs: Plan storage is 0.15 GBPricing page2026-09-14

Budget examples

Four fixed rooms, from a one-admin project to an eight-admin deal team, priced with the same rules for every vendor that publishes prices. Which vendor comes out lowest changes with the number of admins and the storage needed. Each example shows the total for monthly billing and for an annual commitment, with the months each one bills; the inputs do not change with the calculator above.

Two admins, 20 GB, six months

VendorMonthly billingAnnual commitment
PeonyUS$528Business · billed 6 monthsUS$720Business · billed 12 months
PapermarkUS$1,033Data Rooms · billed 6 monthsUS$1,372Data Rooms · billed 12 months
DocSendUS$1,800Advanced Data Rooms · billed 6 months · storage limit not stated · last read 2026-08-27US$2,160Advanced Data Rooms · billed 12 months · storage limit not stated · last read 2026-08-27
SecureDocsUS$2,4003 Month Plan · billed 6 months · storage limit not statedUS$3,00012 Month Plan · billed 12 months · storage limit not stated
DigifyUS$3,000Team · billed 6 monthsUS$4,200Team · billed 12 months
Virtual VaultsUS$3,652Basic · billed 6 monthsUS$6,265Basic · billed 12 months
DillienUS$4,158Standard (fixed monthly price) · billed 6 monthsUS$4,158Standard (fixed monthly price) · billed 6 months
FirmRoomUS$14,97010GB · billed 6 monthsUS$14,97010GB · billed 6 months
FordataUS$25,609LITE · billed 6 monthsUS$50,455LITE · billed 12 months
AnsaradaUS$38,60420 GB · billed 6 monthsUS$61,60820 GB · billed 12 months
CapLinkedStarting price only · EnterpriseStarting price only · Enterprise
ClinkedStarting price only · Virtual Data RoomStarting price only · Virtual Data Room
DroomsNo listed plan covers these inputsNo listed plan covers these inputs
SmartRoomListed price requires qualification · Special pricing, per transactionListed price requires qualification · Special pricing, per transaction

One admin, 5 GB, three months

VendorMonthly billingAnnual commitment
PeonyUS$132Business · billed 3 monthsUS$360Business · billed 12 months
PapermarkUS$516Data Rooms · billed 3 monthsUS$1,372Data Rooms · billed 12 months
DigifyUS$570Pro · billed 3 monthsUS$1,680Pro · billed 12 months
DocSendUS$900Advanced Data Rooms · billed 3 months · storage limit not stated · last read 2026-08-27US$2,160Advanced Data Rooms · billed 12 months · storage limit not stated · last read 2026-08-27
CapLinkedUS$1,197Team · billed 3 monthsUS$1,197Team · billed 3 months
SecureDocsUS$1,2003 Month Plan · billed 3 months · storage limit not statedUS$3,00012 Month Plan · billed 12 months · storage limit not stated
DillienUS$2,079Standard (fixed monthly price) · billed 3 monthsUS$2,079Standard (fixed monthly price) · billed 3 months
FirmRoomUS$2,0855GB · billed 3 monthsUS$2,0855GB · billed 3 months
Virtual VaultsUS$2,218Basic · billed 3 monthsUS$6,265Basic · billed 12 months
DroomsUS$3,101Professional 5 GB · billed 3 monthsUS$11,172Professional 5 GB · billed 12 months
FordataUS$3,448LITE · billed 3 monthsUS$13,030LITE · billed 12 months
AnsaradaUS$7,8425 GB · billed 3 monthsUS$22,0085 GB · billed 12 months
ClinkedStarting price only · Virtual Data RoomStarting price only · Virtual Data Room
SmartRoomListed price requires qualification · Special pricing, per transactionListed price requires qualification · Special pricing, per transaction

Four admins, 50 GB, twelve months

VendorMonthly billingAnnual commitment
PeonyUS$2,112Business · billed 12 monthsUS$1,440Business · billed 12 months
PapermarkUS$2,745Data Rooms · billed 12 monthsUS$1,830Data Rooms · billed 12 months
SecureDocsUS$3,00012 Month Plan · billed 12 months · storage limit not statedUS$3,00012 Month Plan · billed 12 months · storage limit not stated
Virtual VaultsUS$7,596Standard · billed 12 monthsUS$7,596Standard · billed 12 months
DillienUS$8,317Standard (fixed monthly price) · billed 12 monthsUS$8,317Standard (fixed monthly price) · billed 12 months
DigifyUS$24,000Business · billed 12 monthsUS$18,000Business · billed 12 months
FirmRoomUS$83,94010GB · billed 12 monthsUS$83,94010GB · billed 12 months
FordataUS$126,068LITE · billed 12 monthsUS$125,305LITE · billed 12 months
AnsaradaNo listed plan covers these inputsNo listed plan covers these inputs
CapLinkedStarting price only · EnterpriseStarting price only · Enterprise
ClinkedStarting price only · Virtual Data RoomStarting price only · Virtual Data Room
DocSendQuote required · Advanced Data RoomsQuote required · Advanced Data Rooms
DroomsNo listed plan covers these inputsNo listed plan covers these inputs
SmartRoomListed price requires qualification · Special pricing, per transactionListed price requires qualification · Special pricing, per transaction

Eight admins, 100 GB, twelve months

VendorMonthly billingAnnual commitment
SecureDocsUS$3,00012 Month Plan · billed 12 months · storage limit not statedUS$3,00012 Month Plan · billed 12 months · storage limit not stated
PapermarkUS$5,461Data Rooms · billed 12 monthsUS$3,659Data Rooms · billed 12 months
PeonyUS$7,200Data Room · billed 12 monthsUS$4,992Data Room · billed 12 months
DillienUS$8,317Standard (fixed monthly price) · billed 12 monthsUS$8,317Standard (fixed monthly price) · billed 12 months
Virtual VaultsUS$12,531Advanced · billed 12 monthsUS$12,531Advanced · billed 12 months
FirmRoomUS$173,94010GB · billed 12 monthsUS$173,94010GB · billed 12 months
FordataUS$250,818LITE · billed 12 monthsUS$250,056LITE · billed 12 months
AnsaradaNo listed plan covers these inputsNo listed plan covers these inputs
CapLinkedStarting price only · EnterpriseStarting price only · Enterprise
ClinkedStarting price only · Virtual Data RoomStarting price only · Virtual Data Room
DigifyNo listed plan covers these inputsNo listed plan covers these inputs
DocSendQuote required · Advanced Data RoomsQuote required · Advanced Data Rooms
DroomsNo listed plan covers these inputsNo listed plan covers these inputs
SmartRoomListed price requires qualification · Special pricing, per transactionListed price requires qualification · Special pricing, per transaction

Which vendors publish prices

Whether a vendor lists a numeric price for a data room plan on its own website, as checked on the date shown. Pricing guides and articles on the vendor’s own domain count; third-party sites do not.

What the vendor’s site showsVendorsWhich
Lists data room prices13Ansarada, CapLinked, Clinked, Digify, Dillien, Drooms, FirmRoom, Fordata, Papermark, Peony, SecureDocs, SmartRoom, Virtual Vaults
Prices on request9Datasite, DFIN Venue, Diligent, EthosData, Firmex, Ideals, Imprima, Intralinks, ShareVault
Free for a limited time1Mage
Pricing not located on the pages checked1Brainloop
Pricing page could not be read when checked1DocSend

Quote-only vendors: third-party estimates

Kept only where a public source can be named and linked. Estimates are not list prices, are not scaled to the inputs above, and are not included in any statistic on this page.

VendorEstimateFor your inputsConditionsSource
Datasitemedian US$25,555 a yearobserved US$2,680–US$46,300Reported contract values; not scaled to your inputsMedian of anonymised buyer contracts on Vendr, with the lowest and highest shown; plan, storage and term not statedVendr2026-09-14
Firmexaverage US$7,800 a yearReported contract values; not scaled to your inputsAverage and maximum annual cost reported in a Vendr buyer guide; plan, storage and term not statedVendr2026-09-14
Idealsmedian US$11,671 a yearobserved US$6,054–US$73,038Reported contract values; not scaled to your inputsMedian of anonymised buyer contracts on Vendr, with the lowest and highest shown; plan, storage and term not statedVendr2026-09-14
Intralinksmedian US$13,950 a yearobserved US$10,000–US$150,803Reported contract values; not scaled to your inputsMedian of anonymised buyer contracts on Vendr, with the lowest and highest shown; plan, storage and term not statedVendr2026-09-14
ShareVaultUS$199 per month$1,194Express plan, listed as usage based; Pro and Enterprise quoted on requestCapterra2026-09-14

Vendor profiles

Each profile reproduces what the vendor states on its own website — its description of itself, how it bills, security certifications, ownership, founding, headquarters and official profiles — with the page and date checked. Where a fact comes from a third party it is labelled. Vendors appear in alphabetical order; each profile has its own link.

Ansarada

“AI-driven virtual data rooms and dealmaking tools” Vendor site2026-09-14

Ansarada lists 23 data room plan sizes on 1-, 3-, 6- and 12-month terms on its pricing pages, checked Sep 14, 2026, from US$69 a month (50 MB Essentials, 12-month term) to US$8,579 a month (20 GB, 1-month term). The full table is in the plans download. Pricing page2026-09-14

Brainloop

“Brainloop is a leading board portal and secure collaboration provider.” Vendor site2026-09-14

Pricing for Brainloop was not located on the pages checked on Sep 14, 2026. Pricing page2026-09-14

CapLinked

“CapLinked’s secure virtual data rooms streamline M&A, fundraising, and due diligence.” Vendor site2026-09-14

CapLinked lists 2 paid data room plans on its pricing page, checked Sep 14, 2026: Team at US$399 a month (5 GB storage); Enterprise from US$500 a month (unlimited storage stated). Pricing page2026-09-14

Clinked

“White-label client portal software for managing clients, teams, projects, and documents in one secure and organized platform.” Vendor site2026-09-14

Clinked lists data room pricing starting from US$719 a month, checked Sep 15, 2026. Pricing page2026-09-15

Datasite

“Datasite is the leading virtual data room provider for M&A, empowering dealmakers worldwide across the entire deal lifecycle.” Vendor site2026-09-14

Datasite prices its data room plans on request; the pricing pages were checked on Sep 14, 2026. Pricing page2026-09-14

DFIN Venue

“Award winning virtual data room optimized for security, productivity, usability & cost transparency.” Vendor site2026-09-14

DFIN Venue prices its data room plans on request; the pricing pages were checked on Sep 14, 2026. Pricing page2026-09-14

Digify

“Digify helps businesses securely share, track, and protect documents — even after download.” Vendor site2026-09-14

Digify lists 3 paid data room plans on its pricing page, checked Sep 15, 2026: Pro at US$190 a month, or US$140 a month billed annually (100 GB storage, up to 1 users); Team at US$500 a month, or US$350 a month billed annually (500 GB storage, up to 3 users); Business at US$2,000 a month, or US$1,500 a month billed annually (1000 GB storage, up to 5 users). Pricing page2026-09-15

Diligent (Data Rooms / Boards)

“Diligent's trusted GRC software helps boards and leaders clarify risk, elevate governance, and manage compliance in one secure, AI-powered platform.” Vendor site2026-09-14

Diligent prices its data room plans on request; the pricing pages were checked on Sep 14, 2026. Pricing page2026-09-14

Dillien

“Dillien is the VDR purpose-built for due diligence — supporting M&A, real estate, and fundraising with secure document management, Q&A, and multi-bidder control.” Vendor site2026-09-14

Dillien lists 1 paid data room plan on its pricing page, checked Sep 14, 2026: Standard (fixed monthly price) at €600 per room a month (unlimited storage stated). Pricing page2026-09-14

Drooms

“Accelerate transactions, automate due diligence and secure confidential data within one powerful platform.” Vendor site2026-09-14

Drooms lists 13 data room plan sizes, billed monthly and annually on its pricing pages, checked Sep 14, 2026, from €44 a month (Professional 0.5 GB, billed annually) to €3,290 a month (Business 10 GB). The full table is in the plans download. Pricing page2026-09-14

EthosData

“EthosData is a virtual data room brand owned by Ideals.” Vendor site2026-09-14

EthosData prices its data room plans on request; the pricing pages were checked on Sep 14, 2026. Pricing page2026-09-14

Firmex

“Firmex is the most trusted virtual data room for secure document sharing in M&A, due diligence, compliance, litigation, corporate transactions, and more.” Vendor site2026-09-14

Firmex prices its data room plans on request; the pricing pages were checked on Sep 14, 2026. Pricing page2026-09-14

FirmRoom

“FirmRoom by DealRoom, is a premier virtual data room (VDR) platform.” Vendor site2026-09-14

FirmRoom lists 3 paid data room plans on its pricing page, checked Sep 14, 2026: 2GB at US$395 per room a month (2 GB storage); 5GB at US$695 per room a month (5 GB storage); 10GB at US$995 per room a month (10 GB storage). Pricing page2026-09-14

Fordata

“FORDATA is a European Virtual Data Room (VDR) provider for M&A, due diligence, and high-stakes transactions.” Vendor site2026-09-14

Fordata lists 1 paid data room plan on its pricing page, checked Sep 14, 2026: LITE at €275 per room a month, or €220 per room a month billed annually (1 GB storage, 15 users included, €19 a month per additional user). Pricing page2026-09-14

Ideals

“Ideals virtual data room — secure software for confidential dealmaking” Vendor site2026-09-14

Ideals prices its data room plans on request; the pricing pages were checked on Sep 14, 2026. Pricing page2026-09-14

Imprima

“From the European VDR pioneer to the all-in-one due diligence technology provider…” Vendor site2026-09-14

Imprima prices its data room plans on request; the pricing pages were checked on Sep 14, 2026. Pricing page2026-09-14

Mage

“Mage runs transactional diligence end to end.” Vendor site2026-09-14

Mage’s site lists its data room as free for a limited time, checked on Sep 14, 2026. Pricing page2026-09-14

Papermark

“Papermark is the secure data room built for modern dealmakers.” Vendor site2026-09-14

Papermark lists 4 paid data room plans on its pricing page, checked Sep 14, 2026: Data Rooms at €149 a month, or €99 a month billed annually (unlimited storage stated, 3 members included, €49 a month per additional member); Data Rooms Plus at €349 a month, or €249 a month billed annually (unlimited storage stated, 5 members included, €69 a month per additional member); Data Rooms Premium at €699 a month, or €549 a month billed annually (unlimited storage stated, 10 members included, €70 a month per additional member); Data Rooms Unlimited at €1,499 a month, or €999 a month billed annually (unlimited storage stated). Pricing page2026-09-14

Peony

“Peony is a virtual data room built for the teams that move deals forward — M&A advisors, founders raising capital, PE funds managing portfolios…” Vendor site2026-09-14

Peony lists 3 paid data room plans on its pricing page, checked Sep 15, 2026: Business at US$44 per admin a month, or US$30 per admin a month billed annually (50 GB storage); Data Room at US$75 per admin a month, or US$52 per admin a month billed annually (unlimited storage stated); Deal Team at US$89 per admin a month, or US$64 per admin a month billed annually (unlimited storage stated, minimum 4 admins). Pricing page2026-09-15

  • Readiness statement, not a certification: As of 2026-09-14 the vendor's pricing page states "Peony is SOC 2-ready (formal Type II audit not yet completed) and does not hold ISO 27001 certification", and its security page states "SOC 2 Type II-ready, with a formal audit not yet completed". These are readiness statements, not a claimed certification, so none is recorded.Pages checked: peony.ink/pricing, peony.ink/features/security, peony.ink/about
  • Ownership: Independent (venture-backed); about page lists investors including Backed VC and Possible Ventures source
  • Founded: 2021 vendor site · HQ: United States vendor site
  • Website and official profiles: peony.ink · x.com · LinkedIn · Wikidata · Capterra · Software Advice

SecureDocs (Onit)

“SecureDocs by Onit: Securely share documents with our virtual data room.” Vendor site2026-09-14

SecureDocs lists 2 paid data room plans on its pricing page, checked Sep 14, 2026: 3 Month Plan at US$400 a month billed quarterly; 12 Month Plan at US$250 a month billed annually. Pricing page2026-09-14

ShareVault

“ShareVault provides secure document sharing for due diligence and collaboration.” Vendor site2026-09-14

ShareVault prices its data room plans on request; the pricing pages were checked on Sep 14, 2026. Pricing page2026-09-14

SmartRoom

“SmartRoom is a next-generation content management platform and virtual data room.” Vendor site2026-09-14

SmartRoom lists 2 paid data room plans on its pricing page, checked Sep 14, 2026: Special pricing, per transaction at US$1,000 one-time per transaction, subject to qualification; Special pricing, annual at US$10,000 per year, subject to qualification. Pricing page2026-09-14

Virtual Vaults

“We are a company that manifests itself digitally, offering an all-in-one platform for dealmakers.” Vendor site2026-09-14

Virtual Vaults lists 3 paid data room plans on its pricing page, checked Sep 14, 2026: Basic at €754 a month on a 1-month term, or €640 a month on a 3-month term, or €527 a month on a 6-month term, or €452 a month on a 12-month term (unlimited storage stated, up to 3 sell-side users); Standard at €914 a month on a 1-month term, or €776 a month on a 3-month term, or €639 a month on a 6-month term, or €548 a month on a 12-month term (unlimited storage stated, up to 7 sell-side users); Advanced at €1,508 a month on a 1-month term, or €1,281 a month on a 3-month term, or €1,055 a month on a 6-month term, or €904 a month on a 12-month term (unlimited storage stated, up to 15 sell-side users). Pricing page2026-09-14

Data and citation

Download the listed plans, the pricing observations and the budget examples (data version 2026.09.1, CC BY 4.0). Any total on this page can be recomputed from the plans file and the rules above. Cite as Deal Cost Index, “How much does a virtual data room cost?”, data version 2026.09.1, with a link to this page.