Transaction cost estimates for companies, projected from public filingsContent updated Sep 22, 2026
Deal Cost Index M&A · IPO · Private capital · Chapter 11

Virtual data rooms · Biotech and pharma

What does a data room for a biotech or pharma deal cost?

Biotech and pharma deals — licensing and partnering agreements as often as company sales — put clinical data, regulatory filings and the patent estate in front of a counterparty under strict confidentiality.

Below: the transactions that use a data room in this sector and what goes into the room, in the words of regulators and advisers; what a room of that kind costs at every vendor that publishes prices; and the vendors whose own website names the sector.

Transactions that use a data room

What goes into the room

Rules and standards that shape the room

The descriptions above are quoted from regulators, standard setters, law and accounting firms and industry bodies, with a link to each; none comes from a data room vendor. They describe common practice and are not a complete diligence list or legal advice for any transaction.

What a biotech or pharma deal data room costs

Totals use the lowest listed plan selected under the storage and admin-seat rules, on monthly billing where the vendor offers it. Vendors are listed alphabetically; the order is not a ranking. Plans are not matched on features.

A biotech licensing or partnering room

Clinical and preclinical data, regulatory filings and the patent estate for one asset, a small business-development team, and a partnering process of about a year.

For a biotech licensing or partnering room (50 GB, two admins, twelve months), published plans from 7 vendors cover the inputs at $1,056–$126K for the months billed on monthly billing where offered; 5 of them state that external viewers are free and unlimited and 7 state that monthly billing is offered.

VendorPlan that fitsTotal (US$)Billed monthsExternal viewersMonthly billingSign-up
Ansarada50 MB EssentialsNo listed plan covers these inputs12not stated on the pages checkednot stated on the pages checkedonline, without contacting sales
CapLinkedEnterpriseStarting price only · Enterprise plan12stated as free and unlimitedofferedonline, without contacting sales
ClinkedVirtual Data RoomStarting price only · Virtual Data Room plan12not stated on the pages checkedofferedonline, without contacting sales
DigifyTeamUS$6,000Team plan12not stated on the pages checkedofferedonline, without contacting sales
DillienStandard (fixed monthly price)US$8,317Standard (fixed monthly price) plan12stated as free and unlimitedofferedonline, without contacting sales
DocSendAdvanced Data RoomsUS$3,600Advanced Data Rooms plan · last read 2026-08-2712the vendor’s pages could not be read when checkedthe vendor’s pages could not be read when checkedthe vendor’s pages could not be read when checked
DroomsStarterNo listed plan covers these inputs12count against the plan’s seatsofferedonline, without contacting sales
FirmRoom10GBUS$83,94010GB plan12stated as free and unlimitedofferedonline, without contacting sales
FordataLITEUS$126,068LITE plan12a stated quota per planofferedonline, without contacting sales
PapermarkData RoomsUS$2,065Data Rooms plan12stated as free and unlimitedofferedonline, without contacting sales
PeonyBusinessUS$1,056Business plan12stated as free and unlimitedofferedonline, without contacting sales
SecureDocs12 Month PlanUS$3,00012 Month Plan12stated as free and unlimitednot stated on the pages checkedonline, without contacting sales
SmartRoomSpecial pricing, per transactionListed price requires qualification · Special pricing, per transaction plannot stated on the pages checkednot stated on the pages checkeda demo or sales contact is stated
Virtual VaultsBasicUS$6,265Basic plan12stated as free and unlimitedoffereda demo or sales contact is stated

A biotech company sale

The full company: several programmes' clinical and manufacturing data, contracts and IP, a larger deal team, and a sale process of about nine months.

For a biotech company sale (80 GB, four admins, nine months), published plans from 7 vendors cover the inputs at $2,058–$151K for the months billed on monthly billing where offered; 5 of them state that external viewers are free and unlimited and 7 state that monthly billing is offered.

VendorPlan that fitsTotal (US$)Billed monthsExternal viewersMonthly billingSign-up
Ansarada50 MB EssentialsNo listed plan covers these inputs12not stated on the pages checkednot stated on the pages checkedonline, without contacting sales
CapLinkedEnterpriseStarting price only · Enterprise plan9stated as free and unlimitedofferedonline, without contacting sales
ClinkedVirtual Data RoomStarting price only · Virtual Data Room plan9not stated on the pages checkedofferedonline, without contacting sales
DigifyBusinessUS$18,000Business plan9not stated on the pages checkedofferedonline, without contacting sales
DillienStandard (fixed monthly price)US$6,238Standard (fixed monthly price) plan9stated as free and unlimitedofferedonline, without contacting sales
DocSendAdvanced Data RoomsQuote required · Advanced Data Rooms plan9the vendor’s pages could not be read when checkedthe vendor’s pages could not be read when checkedthe vendor’s pages could not be read when checked
DroomsProfessional 0.5 GBNo listed plan covers these inputs9count against the plan’s seatsofferedonline, without contacting sales
FirmRoom10GBUS$103,45510GB plan9stated as free and unlimitedofferedonline, without contacting sales
FordataLITEUS$150,689LITE plan9a stated quota per planofferedonline, without contacting sales
PapermarkData RoomsUS$2,058Data Rooms plan9stated as free and unlimitedofferedonline, without contacting sales
PeonyData RoomUS$2,700Data Room plan9stated as free and unlimitedofferedonline, without contacting sales
SecureDocs12 Month PlanUS$3,00012 Month Plan12stated as free and unlimitednot stated on the pages checkedonline, without contacting sales
SmartRoomSpecial pricing, per transactionListed price requires qualification · Special pricing, per transaction plannot stated on the pages checkednot stated on the pages checkeda demo or sales contact is stated
Virtual VaultsStandardUS$7,596Standard plan12stated as free and unlimitedoffereda demo or sales contact is stated

The room inputs are illustrative and were fixed before any total was computed; no published source gives typical room sizes for this sector, and your room will differ. Prices are as published by each vendor on the date shown. Fit is decided on stated storage and admin seats only; security, features, support and suitability for any transaction are not assessed, and nothing here is a recommendation of any vendor.

Vendors whose website names biotech and pharma

Each entry is that vendor’s own statement about itself, quoted with the page and date it was read. Being listed is not an endorsement and says nothing about how well a vendor serves the sector; a vendor that is not listed may still serve it.

More on data rooms

All vendor prices and profiles: how much a virtual data room costs. Features each vendor states: data room features. Other sectors: Biotech and pharma · Medical devices and healthcare · Real estate · Metals and mining · Oil, gas and energy · Renewables and infrastructure · Technology and software · Financial services · Manufacturing and industrials · Consumer and retail · Construction · Education · Legal · Government and public sector.