Virtual data rooms · Education
What does a data room for an education provider sale cost?
Sales of schools, colleges and education businesses turn on accreditation and regulatory approval, so the room carries accreditor and regulator filings alongside enrolment, faculty and property records.
Below: the transactions that use a data room in this sector and what goes into the room, in the words of regulators and advisers; what a room of that kind costs at every vendor that publishes prices; and the vendors whose own website names the sector.
Transactions that use a data room
- “Satellite campuses, new programs, consortium agreements and joint ventures all provide means of growth outside of “traditional” M&A.” Hunton Andrews Kurth2026-09-22
- “Select the legal structure (merger, acquisition, joint venture, etc.) most appropriate for regulatory and accreditor approval and operational integration.” Hunton Andrews Kurth2026-09-22
- “A strategic merger can sometimes offer relief to schools that are likely to lose their accredited status for financial reasons” Carr, Riggs & Ingram2026-09-22
What goes into the room
- “Financial diligence around cohort default rates, terms of debt, accreditation, and pending actions from students are particularly relevant in evaluating distressed institutions.” Hunton Andrews Kurth2026-09-22
- “Revised or new Articles of Incorporation, Articles of Merger, etc., arising out of the transaction.” Higher Learning Commission2026-09-22
- “New or revised corporate documents including Bylaws, Operating Agreement (LLC), Partnership or Joint Venture Agreement, etc. arising out of the Change of Control.” Higher Learning Commission2026-09-22
- “For stock-related transactions, relevant filings completed with the Securities and Exchange Commission” Higher Learning Commission2026-09-22
Rules and standards that shape the room
- Title IV eligibility on change in ownership, 34 CFR 600.31: “a private nonprofit, private for-profit, or public institution that undergoes a change in ownership that results in a change in control ceases to qualify as an eligible institution” 34 CFR 600.312026-09-22
- FERPA prior written consent, 34 CFR 99.30: “The parent or eligible student shall provide a signed and dated written consent before an educational agency or institution discloses personally identifiable information from the student 's education records” 34 CFR 99.302026-09-22
- HLC Change of Control, Structure or Organization: “identifying (if applicable) what additional steps are required beyond HLC approval prior to consummation of the transaction” Higher Learning Commission2026-09-22
The descriptions above are quoted from regulators, standard setters, law and accounting firms and industry bodies, with a link to each; none comes from a data room vendor. They describe common practice and are not a complete diligence list or legal advice for any transaction.
What a education provider sale data room costs
Totals use the lowest listed plan selected under the storage and admin-seat rules, on monthly billing where the vendor offers it. Vendors are listed alphabetically; the order is not a ranking. Plans are not matched on features.
An education provider sale
Accreditation and regulatory approvals, enrolment data, faculty and lease agreements, two admins, and a process of about nine months including approvals.
For an education provider sale (15 GB, two admins, nine months), published plans from 8 vendors cover the inputs at $792–$48K for the months billed on monthly billing where offered; 5 of them state that external viewers are free and unlimited and 7 state that monthly billing is offered.
| Vendor | Plan that fits | Total (US$) | Billed months | External viewers | Monthly billing | Sign-up |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 15 GB | US$48,34815 GB plan | 12 | not stated on the pages checked | not stated on the pages checked | online, without contacting sales | |
| Enterprise | Starting price only · Enterprise plan | 9 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales | |
| Virtual Data Room | Starting price only · Virtual Data Room plan | 9 | not stated on the pages checked | offered | online, without contacting sales | |
| Team | US$4,500Team plan | 9 | not stated on the pages checked | offered | online, without contacting sales | |
| Standard (fixed monthly price) | US$6,238Standard (fixed monthly price) plan | 9 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales | |
| Advanced Data Rooms | US$2,700Advanced Data Rooms plan · last read 2026-08-27 | 9 | the vendor’s pages could not be read when checked | the vendor’s pages could not be read when checked | the vendor’s pages could not be read when checked | |
| Starter | No listed plan covers these inputs | 9 | count against the plan’s seats | offered | online, without contacting sales | |
| 10GB | US$15,70510GB plan | 9 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales | |
| LITE | US$29,057LITE plan | 9 | a stated quota per plan | offered | online, without contacting sales | |
| Data Rooms | US$1,549Data Rooms plan | 9 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales | |
| Business | US$792Business plan | 9 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales | |
| 12 Month Plan | US$3,00012 Month Plan | 12 | stated as free and unlimited | not stated on the pages checked | online, without contacting sales | |
| Special pricing, per transaction | Listed price requires qualification · Special pricing, per transaction plan | — | not stated on the pages checked | not stated on the pages checked | a demo or sales contact is stated | |
| Basic | US$6,265Basic plan | 12 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | a demo or sales contact is stated |
The room inputs are illustrative and were fixed before any total was computed; no published source gives typical room sizes for this sector, and your room will differ. Prices are as published by each vendor on the date shown. Fit is decided on stated storage and admin seats only; security, features, support and suitability for any transaction are not assessed, and nothing here is a recommendation of any vendor.
Vendors whose website names education
- Diligent (Data Rooms / Boards): “Education & Local Government” Vendor site2026-09-21
- DocSend: “Education & Training” Vendor site2026-09-21
- Peony: “Education & Training” Vendor site2026-09-21
- SmartRoom: “Education” Vendor site2026-09-21
Each entry is that vendor’s own statement about itself, quoted with the page and date it was read. Being listed is not an endorsement and says nothing about how well a vendor serves the sector; a vendor that is not listed may still serve it.
More on data rooms
All vendor prices and profiles: how much a virtual data room costs. Features each vendor states: data room features. Other sectors: Biotech and pharma · Medical devices and healthcare · Real estate · Metals and mining · Oil, gas and energy · Renewables and infrastructure · Technology and software · Financial services · Manufacturing and industrials · Consumer and retail · Construction · Education · Legal · Government and public sector.