---
title: "What does a data room for a software company sale cost?"
description: "Data room costs for software and technology company sales, what buyers expect in the room, and which vendors name technology."
site: Deal Cost Index
content_updated: 2026-09-22
license: CC BY 4.0
html: https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-technology.html
---
[Virtual data rooms](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html) · Technology and software

# What does a data room for a software company sale cost?

Software company sales are usually small rooms by storage but dense in contracts and technical evidence: customer agreements, source-code and open-source reviews, and security reports.

Below: the transactions that use a data room in this sector and what goes into the room, in the words of regulators and advisers; what a room of that kind costs at every vendor that publishes prices; and the vendors whose own website names the sector.

## Transactions that use a data room

- “For established software businesses approaching a sale, buyers - whether private equity or strategic - begin from a simple premise” [IMAP 2026-09-22](https://www.imap.com/us-en/insights/2026/Technology-Mergers-and-Acquisitions-Due-Diligence-Where-Deals-Are-Won-and-Lost~cv)

- “After a term sheet is signed and simultaneously with kicking off the legal Due Diligence process, the parties will start to prepare and negotiate the various investment agreements” [Gunderson Dettmer 2026-09-22](https://catalyze.gunder.com/en/knowledge-articles/resource/gc-primer-venture-financing-process-part-iv-negotiating-terms-and-transaction-documents)

## What goes into the room

- “Buyers insist on clear ownership of software source code, supported by comprehensive IP assignment agreements from all employees and contractors.” [IMAP 2026-09-22](https://www.imap.com/us-en/insights/2026/Technology-Mergers-and-Acquisitions-Due-Diligence-Where-Deals-Are-Won-and-Lost~cv)

- “One aspect of due diligence typically conducted requires a scan of the company’s software.” [Morgan Lewis 2026-09-22](https://www.morganlewis.com/blogs/sourcingatmorganlewis/2026/06/open-source-software-common-areas-of-inquiry-in-m-and-a-due-diligence)

- “The buyer requests the target’s open source policy and component inventory, then runs an independent composition scan and compares the two.” [Montague Law 2026-09-22](https://montague.law/blog/open-source-software-diligence-ma-copyleft-gpl/)

- “Businesses able to demonstrate durable ARR, strong NRR relative to gross churn, and defensible customer contracts retain negotiating leverage.” [IMAP 2026-09-22](https://www.imap.com/us-en/insights/2026/Technology-Mergers-and-Acquisitions-Due-Diligence-Where-Deals-Are-Won-and-Lost~cv)

- “Particular attention is paid to data controller versus processor status, executed Data Processing Agreements, cross-border data transfer safeguards, and cybersecurity controls.” [IMAP 2026-09-22](https://www.imap.com/us-en/insights/2026/Technology-Mergers-and-Acquisitions-Due-Diligence-Where-Deals-Are-Won-and-Lost~cv)

- “Those representations and warranties are intended to be read in connection with a schedule of disclosures (the “disclosure schedule” or “schedule of exceptions”), prepared by the company” [Gunderson Dettmer 2026-09-22](https://catalyze.gunder.com/en/knowledge-articles/resource/gc-primer-venture-financing-process-part-iv-negotiating-terms-and-transaction-documents)

## Rules and standards that shape the room

- UK GDPR / ICO Data Sharing Code (M&A due diligence): “you must consider data sharing as part of the due diligence you carry out when taking on the organisation and its obligations.” [UK Information Commissioner's Office 2026-09-22](https://ico.org.uk/for-organisations/uk-gdpr-guidance-and-resources/data-sharing/data-sharing-a-code-of-practice/due-diligence/)

- AICPA SOC 2 Trust Services Criteria: “SOC 2 examinations evaluate management’s service commitments and system requirements against the AICPA’s Trust Services Criteria .” [Cherry Bekaert 2026-09-22](https://www.cbh.com/insights/articles/soc-2-trust-services-criteria-guide/)

- Open-source licences (e.g. GPL, AGPL): “AGPL components inside a SaaS stack get flagged in every serious scan, and why some acquirers maintain flat internal prohibitions on them.” [Montague Law 2026-09-22](https://montague.law/blog/open-source-software-diligence-ma-copyleft-gpl/)

The descriptions above are quoted from regulators, standard setters, law and accounting firms and industry bodies, with a link to each; none comes from a data room vendor. They describe common practice and are not a complete diligence list or legal advice for any transaction.

## What a software company sale data room costs

Totals use the lowest listed plan selected under the [storage and admin-seat rules](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#billing-basis), on monthly billing where the vendor offers it. Vendors are listed alphabetically; the order is not a ranking. Plans are not matched on features.

### A software company sale

Customer contracts, source-code and open-source audits, security reports and financials, two admins, and a process of about half a year.

For a software company sale (20 GB, two admins, six months), published plans from 8 vendors cover the inputs at $528–$39K for the months billed on monthly billing where offered; 5 of them state that external viewers are free and unlimited and 7 state that monthly billing is offered.

| Vendor | Plan that fits | Total (US$) | Billed months | External viewers | Monthly billing | Sign-up |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| [Ansarada](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-ansarada) | 20 GB | US$38,604 — 20 GB plan | 6 | not stated on the pages checked | not stated on the pages checked | online, without contacting sales |
| [CapLinked](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-caplinked) | Enterprise | — Starting price only · Enterprise plan | 6 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Clinked](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-clinked) | Virtual Data Room | — Starting price only · Virtual Data Room plan | 6 | not stated on the pages checked | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Digify](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-digify) | Team | US$3,000 — Team plan | 6 | not stated on the pages checked | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Dillien](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-dillien) | Standard (fixed monthly price) | US$4,158 — Standard (fixed monthly price) plan | 6 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [DocSend](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-docsend) | Advanced Data Rooms | US$1,800 — Advanced Data Rooms plan · last read 2026-08-27 | 6 | the vendor’s pages could not be read when checked | the vendor’s pages could not be read when checked | the vendor’s pages could not be read when checked |
| [Drooms](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-drooms) | Starter | — No listed plan covers these inputs | 6 | count against the plan’s seats | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [FirmRoom](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-firmroom) | 10GB | US$14,970 — 10GB plan | 6 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Fordata](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-fordata) | LITE | US$25,609 — LITE plan | 6 | a stated quota per plan | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Papermark](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-papermark) | Data Rooms | US$1,033 — Data Rooms plan | 6 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Peony](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-peony) | Business | US$528 — Business plan | 6 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [SecureDocs](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-securedocs) | 3 Month Plan | US$2,400 — 3 Month Plan | 6 | stated as free and unlimited | not stated on the pages checked | online, without contacting sales |
| [SmartRoom](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-smartroom) | Special pricing, per transaction | — Listed price requires qualification · Special pricing, per transaction plan | — | not stated on the pages checked | not stated on the pages checked | a demo or sales contact is stated |
| [Virtual Vaults](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-virtual-vaults) | Basic | US$3,652 — Basic plan | 6 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | a demo or sales contact is stated |

The room inputs are illustrative and were fixed before any total was computed; no published source gives typical room sizes for this sector, and your room will differ. Prices are as published by each vendor on the date shown. Fit is decided on stated storage and admin seats only; security, features, support and suitability for any transaction are not assessed, and nothing here is a recommendation of any vendor.

## Vendors whose website names technology and software

- [CapLinked](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-caplinked): “Technology” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.caplinked.com)

- [Datasite](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-datasite): “Technology, Media & Telecom” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.datasite.com)

- [Diligent (Data Rooms / Boards)](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-diligent): “Technology” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.diligent.com)

- [Dillien](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-dillien): “Real estate, tech, finance, or legal: the platform gives you a secure, structured space” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://dillien.com/data-room/other)

- [Intralinks](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-intralinks): “High-Tech (TMT)” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.intralinks.com)

- [Papermark](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-papermark): “Technology (TMT)” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.papermark.com/virtual-data-room-use-cases)

- [Peony](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-peony): “founders across tech, energy, and mining rely on Peony every day.” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.peony.ink)

- [SecureDocs (Onit)](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-securedocs): “Technology” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.onit.com/products/clm/securedocs/)

Each entry is that vendor’s own statement about itself, quoted with the page and date it was read. Being listed is not an endorsement and says nothing about how well a vendor serves the sector; a vendor that is not listed may still serve it.

## More on data rooms

All vendor prices and profiles: [how much a virtual data room costs](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html). Features each vendor states: [data room features](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-features.html). Other sectors: [Biotech and pharma](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-biotech.html) · [Medical devices and healthcare](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-healthcare.html) · [Real estate](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-real-estate.html) · [Metals and mining](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-mining.html) · [Oil, gas and energy](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-oil-gas.html) · [Renewables and infrastructure](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-renewables.html) · [Technology and software](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-technology.html) · [Financial services](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-financial-services.html) · [Manufacturing and industrials](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-manufacturing.html) · [Consumer and retail](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-consumer.html) · [Construction](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-construction.html) · [Education](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-education.html) · [Legal](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-law-firms.html) · [Government and public sector](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-government.html).

Deal Cost Index. Data: CC BY 4.0.
