---
title: "What does a data room for a renewable energy or infrastructure deal cost?"
description: "Data room costs for renewable energy portfolio sales and tax equity financings, what goes in the room, and which vendors name the sector."
site: Deal Cost Index
content_updated: 2026-09-22
license: CC BY 4.0
html: https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-renewables.html
---
[Virtual data rooms](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html) · Renewables and infrastructure

# What does a data room for a renewable energy or infrastructure deal cost?

Renewable energy and infrastructure deals — portfolio sales and tax equity financings — are diligenced project by project: offtake and interconnection agreements, land rights, and independent engineer and energy yield reports.

Below: the transactions that use a data room in this sector and what goes into the room, in the words of regulators and advisers; what a room of that kind costs at every vendor that publishes prices; and the vendors whose own website names the sector.

## Transactions that use a data room

- “Prior to closing a tax equity investment, the bank performs due diligence similar to a loan closing.” [American Council on Renewable Energy 2026-09-22](https://acore.org/resources/the-risk-profile-of-renewable-energy-tax-equity-investments/)

- “to review due diligence materials for tax equity financings in all fifty states.” [Foley & Lardner LLP 2026-09-22](https://www.foley.com/sectors/energy/renewables/tax-equity/)

## What goes into the room

- “The tax equity investor will review and comment on project contracts – including the PPA, interconnection agreements, EPC contracts, site lease agreements, O&M agreements, and other key project documents.” [American Council on Renewable Energy 2026-09-22](https://acore.org/resources/the-risk-profile-of-renewable-energy-tax-equity-investments/)

- “the tax equity investor and project engage an independent engineer and, in the case of an ITC, an appraiser to assess the value of the property.” [American Council on Renewable Energy 2026-09-22](https://acore.org/resources/the-risk-profile-of-renewable-energy-tax-equity-investments/)

## Rules and standards that shape the room

- IEC 61400-12-1 (wind power performance measurement): “IEC 61400-12-1:2022 specifies a procedure for measuring the power performance characteristics of” [International Electrotechnical Commission 2026-09-22](https://webstore.iec.ch/en/publication/68499)

- IEC/UL 61730 (PV module safety): “UL Solutions supports projects aligned to PV safety frameworks such as IEC/UL 61730 for modules” [UL Solutions 2026-09-22](https://www.ul.com/services/solar-and-wind-project-due-diligence-services)

The descriptions above are quoted from regulators, standard setters, law and accounting firms and industry bodies, with a link to each; none comes from a data room vendor. They describe common practice and are not a complete diligence list or legal advice for any transaction.

## What a renewable energy or infrastructure deal data room costs

Totals use the lowest listed plan selected under the [storage and admin-seat rules](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#billing-basis), on monthly billing where the vendor offers it. Vendors are listed alphabetically; the order is not a ranking. Plans are not matched on features.

### A renewable energy project portfolio sale or financing

Power purchase agreements, interconnection agreements, land rights, independent engineer reports and energy yield studies for several projects, over about nine months.

For a renewable energy project portfolio sale or financing (60 GB, four admins, nine months), published plans from 7 vendors cover the inputs at $2,058–$113K for the months billed on monthly billing where offered; 5 of them state that external viewers are free and unlimited and 7 state that monthly billing is offered.

| Vendor | Plan that fits | Total (US$) | Billed months | External viewers | Monthly billing | Sign-up |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| [Ansarada](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-ansarada) | 50 MB Essentials | — No listed plan covers these inputs | 12 | not stated on the pages checked | not stated on the pages checked | online, without contacting sales |
| [CapLinked](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-caplinked) | Enterprise | — Starting price only · Enterprise plan | 9 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Clinked](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-clinked) | Virtual Data Room | — Starting price only · Virtual Data Room plan | 9 | not stated on the pages checked | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Digify](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-digify) | Business | US$18,000 — Business plan | 9 | not stated on the pages checked | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Dillien](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-dillien) | Standard (fixed monthly price) | US$6,238 — Standard (fixed monthly price) plan | 9 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [DocSend](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-docsend) | Advanced Data Rooms | — Quote required · Advanced Data Rooms plan | 9 | the vendor’s pages could not be read when checked | the vendor’s pages could not be read when checked | the vendor’s pages could not be read when checked |
| [Drooms](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-drooms) | Professional 0.5 GB | — No listed plan covers these inputs | 9 | count against the plan’s seats | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [FirmRoom](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-firmroom) | 10GB | US$76,455 — 10GB plan | 9 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Fordata](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-fordata) | LITE | US$113,263 — LITE plan | 9 | a stated quota per plan | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Papermark](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-papermark) | Data Rooms | US$2,058 — Data Rooms plan | 9 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Peony](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-peony) | Data Room | US$2,700 — Data Room plan | 9 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [SecureDocs](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-securedocs) | 12 Month Plan | US$3,000 — 12 Month Plan | 12 | stated as free and unlimited | not stated on the pages checked | online, without contacting sales |
| [SmartRoom](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-smartroom) | Special pricing, per transaction | — Listed price requires qualification · Special pricing, per transaction plan | — | not stated on the pages checked | not stated on the pages checked | a demo or sales contact is stated |
| [Virtual Vaults](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-virtual-vaults) | Standard | US$7,596 — Standard plan | 12 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | a demo or sales contact is stated |

The room inputs are illustrative and were fixed before any total was computed; no published source gives typical room sizes for this sector, and your room will differ. Prices are as published by each vendor on the date shown. Fit is decided on stated storage and admin seats only; security, features, support and suitability for any transaction are not assessed, and nothing here is a recommendation of any vendor.

## Vendors whose website names renewables and infrastructure

- [Ansarada](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-ansarada): “Utilities and infrastructure” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.ansarada.com)

- [Datasite](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-datasite): “Renewable Energy” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.datasite.com)

- [Drooms](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-drooms): “Drooms is the ideal platform for energy and renewables transactions” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://drooms.com/faq/)

- [Firmex](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-firmex): “Renewable Energy” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.firmex.com)

- [FirmRoom](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-firmroom): “Energy & Infra” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://firmroom.com)

- [Fordata](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-fordata): “Renewable Energy Sources” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://fordatagroup.com)

- [Ideals](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-ideals): “Our data room accelerates complex transactions across industries, from renewables to life sciences” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.idealsvdr.com/)

- [Peony](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-peony): “Data Centres & Digital Infrastructure” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.peony.ink/solutions)

Each entry is that vendor’s own statement about itself, quoted with the page and date it was read. Being listed is not an endorsement and says nothing about how well a vendor serves the sector; a vendor that is not listed may still serve it.

## More on data rooms

All vendor prices and profiles: [how much a virtual data room costs](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html). Features each vendor states: [data room features](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-features.html). Other sectors: [Biotech and pharma](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-biotech.html) · [Medical devices and healthcare](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-healthcare.html) · [Real estate](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-real-estate.html) · [Metals and mining](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-mining.html) · [Oil, gas and energy](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-oil-gas.html) · [Renewables and infrastructure](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-renewables.html) · [Technology and software](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-technology.html) · [Financial services](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-financial-services.html) · [Manufacturing and industrials](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-manufacturing.html) · [Consumer and retail](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-consumer.html) · [Construction](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-construction.html) · [Education](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-education.html) · [Legal](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-law-firms.html) · [Government and public sector](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-government.html).

Deal Cost Index. Data: CC BY 4.0.
