---
title: "What does a data room for a real estate sale cost?"
description: "Data room costs for single-asset and portfolio real estate sales, what buyers expect in the room, and which vendors name real estate."
site: Deal Cost Index
content_updated: 2026-09-22
license: CC BY 4.0
html: https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-real-estate.html
---
[Virtual data rooms](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html) · Real estate

# What does a data room for a real estate sale cost?

A property sale is diligenced building by building: leases and the rent roll, title and surveys, environmental reports and service contracts, for one asset or for a whole portfolio.

Below: the transactions that use a data room in this sector and what goes into the room, in the words of regulators and advisers; what a room of that kind costs at every vendor that publishes prices; and the vendors whose own website names the sector.

## Transactions that use a data room

- “items you’ll need to make the most informed decision possible on your next real estate acquisition.” [Thompson Coburn LLP 2026-09-22](https://www.thompsoncoburn.com/insights/due-diligence-checklist-for-commercial-real-estate-acquisitions/)

- “As we represent both lenders and borrowers, our attorneys are adept at both understanding the structure of the transaction” [Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP 2026-09-22](https://katten.com/realestatefinance)

- “capital markets and portfolio financings, including commercial mortgage-backed securities (CMBS) and collateralized loan obligations (CLOs)” [Holland & Knight LLP 2026-09-22](https://www.hklaw.com/en/services/practices/real-estate-hospitality-and-leisure/real-estate-finance)

## What goes into the room

- “The most recent title policy or title commitment on the property in the possession or control of seller together with all related documents.” [Thompson Coburn LLP 2026-09-22](https://www.thompsoncoburn.com/insights/due-diligence-checklist-for-commercial-real-estate-acquisitions/)

- “The most recent ALTA survey and topographic study for the property and a copy of the construction blueprints, engineering plans and as-built drawings” [Thompson Coburn LLP 2026-09-22](https://www.thompsoncoburn.com/insights/due-diligence-checklist-for-commercial-real-estate-acquisitions/)

- “environmental reports (including but not limited to Phase I and Phase II reports, NFR letters, mold abatement reports and underground storage tank testing and closure reports)” [Thompson Coburn LLP 2026-09-22](https://www.thompsoncoburn.com/insights/due-diligence-checklist-for-commercial-real-estate-acquisitions/)

- “A true, correct and complete copy of each written lease and each guaranty (together with any amendments)” [Thompson Coburn LLP 2026-09-22](https://www.thompsoncoburn.com/insights/due-diligence-checklist-for-commercial-real-estate-acquisitions/)

- “a certified rent roll, showing current rent, previous rent if applicable, delinquencies, security deposits, years of occupancy, lease commencement date and lease termination date.” [Thompson Coburn LLP 2026-09-22](https://www.thompsoncoburn.com/insights/due-diligence-checklist-for-commercial-real-estate-acquisitions/)

- “Zoning Compliance Certificate for the property and all zoning approvals (including variances and any pending applications).” [Thompson Coburn LLP 2026-09-22](https://www.thompsoncoburn.com/insights/due-diligence-checklist-for-commercial-real-estate-acquisitions/)

- “A copy of the last three years’ real estate tax bills, including special assessments or incentives” [Thompson Coburn LLP 2026-09-22](https://www.thompsoncoburn.com/insights/due-diligence-checklist-for-commercial-real-estate-acquisitions/)

## Rules and standards that shape the room

- ASTM E1527-21 Phase I ESA / EPA All Appropriate Inquiries (40 CFR Part 312): “The AAI Final Rule provides that ASTM International Standard E1527-21 (“Standard Practice for Environmental Site Assessments: Phase I Environmental Site Assessment Process”)” [U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 2026-09-22](https://www.epa.gov/brownfields/brownfields-all-appropriate-inquiries)

- CERCLA landowner liability protections: “CERCLA provides protection from liability for certain landowners and prospective purchasers of real property” [U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 2026-09-22](https://www.epa.gov/brownfields/brownfields-all-appropriate-inquiries)

- 2021 ALTA/NSPS Land Title Survey Minimum Standards: “the American Land Title Association and the National Society of Professional Surveyors adopted the new 2021 version of the ALTA/NSPS Land Title Survey Minimum Standards” [National Society of Professional Surveyors 2026-09-22](https://cdn.ymaws.com/nsps.us.com/resource/resmgr/alta_standards/2021_ALTA-NSPS_Standards_Art.pdf)

The descriptions above are quoted from regulators, standard setters, law and accounting firms and industry bodies, with a link to each; none comes from a data room vendor. They describe common practice and are not a complete diligence list or legal advice for any transaction.

## What a real estate sale data room costs

Totals use the lowest listed plan selected under the [storage and admin-seat rules](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#billing-basis), on monthly billing where the vendor offers it. Vendors are listed alphabetically; the order is not a ranking. Plans are not matched on features.

### A single commercial property sale

Leases, rent roll, title, surveys and environmental reports for one building, an agent and two colleagues, and a marketing period of about half a year.

For a single commercial property sale (30 GB, three admins, six months), published plans from 7 vendors cover the inputs at $792–$38K for the months billed on monthly billing where offered; 5 of them state that external viewers are free and unlimited and 7 state that monthly billing is offered.

| Vendor | Plan that fits | Total (US$) | Billed months | External viewers | Monthly billing | Sign-up |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| [Ansarada](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-ansarada) | 50 MB Essentials | — No listed plan covers these inputs | 6 | not stated on the pages checked | not stated on the pages checked | online, without contacting sales |
| [CapLinked](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-caplinked) | Enterprise | — Starting price only · Enterprise plan | 6 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Clinked](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-clinked) | Virtual Data Room | — Starting price only · Virtual Data Room plan | 6 | not stated on the pages checked | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Digify](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-digify) | Team | US$3,000 — Team plan | 6 | not stated on the pages checked | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Dillien](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-dillien) | Standard (fixed monthly price) | US$4,158 — Standard (fixed monthly price) plan | 6 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [DocSend](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-docsend) | Advanced Data Rooms | US$1,800 — Advanced Data Rooms plan · last read 2026-08-27 | 6 | the vendor’s pages could not be read when checked | the vendor’s pages could not be read when checked | the vendor’s pages could not be read when checked |
| [Drooms](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-drooms) | Professional 0.5 GB | — No listed plan covers these inputs | 6 | count against the plan’s seats | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [FirmRoom](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-firmroom) | 10GB | US$23,970 — 10GB plan | 6 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Fordata](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-fordata) | LITE | US$38,084 — LITE plan | 6 | a stated quota per plan | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Papermark](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-papermark) | Data Rooms | US$1,033 — Data Rooms plan | 6 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Peony](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-peony) | Business | US$792 — Business plan | 6 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [SecureDocs](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-securedocs) | 3 Month Plan | US$2,400 — 3 Month Plan | 6 | stated as free and unlimited | not stated on the pages checked | online, without contacting sales |
| [SmartRoom](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-smartroom) | Special pricing, per transaction | — Listed price requires qualification · Special pricing, per transaction plan | — | not stated on the pages checked | not stated on the pages checked | a demo or sales contact is stated |
| [Virtual Vaults](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-virtual-vaults) | Basic | US$3,652 — Basic plan | 6 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | a demo or sales contact is stated |

### A property portfolio sale

The same documents for many buildings, a larger team across asset management and legal, and a process of about nine months.

For a property portfolio sale (100 GB, six admins, nine months), published plans from 6 vendors cover the inputs at $3,077–$188K for the months billed on monthly billing where offered; 5 of them state that external viewers are free and unlimited and 6 state that monthly billing is offered.

| Vendor | Plan that fits | Total (US$) | Billed months | External viewers | Monthly billing | Sign-up |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| [Ansarada](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-ansarada) | 50 MB Essentials | — No listed plan covers these inputs | 12 | not stated on the pages checked | not stated on the pages checked | online, without contacting sales |
| [CapLinked](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-caplinked) | Enterprise | — Starting price only · Enterprise plan | 9 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Clinked](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-clinked) | Virtual Data Room | — Starting price only · Virtual Data Room plan | 9 | not stated on the pages checked | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Digify](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-digify) | Pro | — No listed plan covers these inputs | 9 | not stated on the pages checked | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Dillien](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-dillien) | Standard (fixed monthly price) | US$6,238 — Standard (fixed monthly price) plan | 9 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [DocSend](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-docsend) | Advanced Data Rooms | — Quote required · Advanced Data Rooms plan | 9 | the vendor’s pages could not be read when checked | the vendor’s pages could not be read when checked | the vendor’s pages could not be read when checked |
| [Drooms](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-drooms) | Professional 0.5 GB | — No listed plan covers these inputs | 9 | count against the plan’s seats | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [FirmRoom](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-firmroom) | 10GB | US$130,455 — 10GB plan | 9 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Fordata](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-fordata) | LITE | US$188,114 — LITE plan | 9 | a stated quota per plan | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Papermark](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-papermark) | Data Rooms | US$3,077 — Data Rooms plan | 9 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Peony](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-peony) | Data Room | US$4,050 — Data Room plan | 9 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [SecureDocs](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-securedocs) | 12 Month Plan | US$3,000 — 12 Month Plan | 12 | stated as free and unlimited | not stated on the pages checked | online, without contacting sales |
| [SmartRoom](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-smartroom) | Special pricing, per transaction | — Listed price requires qualification · Special pricing, per transaction plan | — | not stated on the pages checked | not stated on the pages checked | a demo or sales contact is stated |
| [Virtual Vaults](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-virtual-vaults) | Standard | US$7,596 — Standard plan | 12 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | a demo or sales contact is stated |

The room inputs are illustrative and were fixed before any total was computed; no published source gives typical room sizes for this sector, and your room will differ. Prices are as published by each vendor on the date shown. Fit is decided on stated storage and admin seats only; security, features, support and suitability for any transaction are not assessed, and nothing here is a recommendation of any vendor.

## Vendors whose website names real estate

- [Ansarada](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-ansarada): “Real estate” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.ansarada.com)

- [Brainloop](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-brainloop): “…security and efficiency for property transactions.” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://brainloop.com/en/use-cases/)

- [CapLinked](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-caplinked): “Real Estate Transactions” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.caplinked.com)

- [Clinked](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-clinked): “Real Estate” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.clinked.com)

- [Datasite](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-datasite): “Real Estate” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.datasite.com)

- [Digify](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-digify): “Real Estate” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://digify.com)

- [Diligent (Data Rooms / Boards)](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-diligent): “Diligent for real estate and construction” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.diligent.com/industries/real-estate-and-construction)

- [Dillien](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-dillien): “Whether you work in real estate, biotech, finance, or law, you can set up a room in seconds” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://dillien.com/data-room/features)

- [DocSend](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-docsend): “Real Estate” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.docsend.com)

- [Drooms](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-drooms): “Real Estate” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://drooms.com)

- [EthosData](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-ethosdata): “Real Estate Data Room” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.ethosdata.com)

- [Firmex](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-firmex): “Real Estate” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.firmex.com)

- [FirmRoom](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-firmroom): “Perfect for mid-sized transactions, real-estate deals, or standard due-diligence workflows.” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://firmroom.com/pricing)

- [Fordata](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-fordata): “Commercial Real Estate” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://fordatagroup.com)

- [Ideals](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-ideals): “Real estate” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.idealsvdr.com/)

- [Imprima](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-imprima): “A comprehensive suite of AI capabilities designed to support legal, real estate and M&A due diligence - securely and at scale.” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.imprima.com)

- [Intralinks](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-intralinks): “Real Estate” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.intralinks.com)

- [Papermark](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-papermark): “Real Estate Transactions” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.papermark.com)

- [Peony](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-peony): “Commercial Real Estate Data Rooms” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.peony.ink)

- [ShareVault](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-sharevault): “Real Estate” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://sharevault.com)

- [Virtual Vaults](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-virtual-vaults): “From portfolio to transaction and vice versa. Secure and efficient due diligence.” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.virtualvaults.com/fields)

Each entry is that vendor’s own statement about itself, quoted with the page and date it was read. Being listed is not an endorsement and says nothing about how well a vendor serves the sector; a vendor that is not listed may still serve it.

## More on data rooms

All vendor prices and profiles: [how much a virtual data room costs](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html). Features each vendor states: [data room features](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-features.html). Other sectors: [Biotech and pharma](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-biotech.html) · [Medical devices and healthcare](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-healthcare.html) · [Real estate](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-real-estate.html) · [Metals and mining](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-mining.html) · [Oil, gas and energy](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-oil-gas.html) · [Renewables and infrastructure](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-renewables.html) · [Technology and software](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-technology.html) · [Financial services](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-financial-services.html) · [Manufacturing and industrials](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-manufacturing.html) · [Consumer and retail](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-consumer.html) · [Construction](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-construction.html) · [Education](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-education.html) · [Legal](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-law-firms.html) · [Government and public sector](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-government.html).

Deal Cost Index. Data: CC BY 4.0.
