---
title: "What does a data room for a mining deal cost?"
description: "Data room costs for mining asset sales, project financings and royalty deals, the technical reports that go in the room, and which vendors name mining."
site: Deal Cost Index
content_updated: 2026-09-22
license: CC BY 4.0
html: https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-mining.html
---
[Virtual data rooms](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html) · Metals and mining

# What does a data room for a mining deal cost?

Mining transactions — asset sales, project financings, and royalty and streaming deals — turn on technical evidence: resource estimates, drill-hole data, metallurgical test work and permits, prepared to disclosure standards set by securities regulators.

Below: the transactions that use a data room in this sector and what goes into the room, in the words of regulators and advisers; what a room of that kind costs at every vendor that publishes prices; and the vendors whose own website names the sector.

## Transactions that use a data room

- “Representing buyers and sellers of publicly-traded and privately-held exploration, development, and mining companies in Canada and the U.S.” [Davis Graham & Stubbs 2026-09-22](https://davisgraham.com/practices/mining-acquisitions-divestitures/)

- “Working with royalty companies on the acquisition of royalties, streaming, and other financing transactions.” [Davis Graham & Stubbs 2026-09-22](https://davisgraham.com/practices/mining-acquisitions-divestitures/)

- “Technical due diligence is the review by independent experts of the geological, mining, metallurgical and environmental technical parameters of an asset for investment, merger or acquisition purposes.” [AMC Consultants 2026-09-22](https://www.amcconsultants.com/experience/technical-due-diligence-mining-industry)

## What goes into the room

- “Reports on mineral resource and ore reserve estimates (and any external reviews)” [AMC Consultants 2026-09-22](https://www.amcconsultants.com/experience/technical-due-diligence-mining-industry)

- “Life-of-mine plans including production and cost schedules and supporting information, including stope, pit and development design strings” [AMC Consultants 2026-09-22](https://www.amcconsultants.com/experience/technical-due-diligence-mining-industry)

- “Current exploration programs and review of near mine exploration drilling and targets” [AMC Consultants 2026-09-22](https://www.amcconsultants.com/experience/technical-due-diligence-mining-industry)

- “Metallurgical test work results and reports including projected recovery rates” [AMC Consultants 2026-09-22](https://www.amcconsultants.com/experience/technical-due-diligence-mining-industry)

- “Recent and current geotechnical assessments for the mine, tailings dams and waste dumps” [AMC Consultants 2026-09-22](https://www.amcconsultants.com/experience/technical-due-diligence-mining-industry)

- “Environmental leases, permits and licenses, including indigenous approvals (and a summary of the status thereof) and a renewal schedule” [AMC Consultants 2026-09-22](https://www.amcconsultants.com/experience/technical-due-diligence-mining-industry)

- “Undertaking comprehensive due diligence investigations of mining companies, ranging from contracts to property title to environmental compliance and all other aspects of mining operations” [Davis Graham & Stubbs 2026-09-22](https://davisgraham.com/practices/mining-acquisitions-divestitures/)

## Rules and standards that shape the room

- SEC Regulation S-K subpart 1300 (Item 1302): “The registrant must obtain a dated and signed technical report summary from the qualified person” [17 CFR 229.1302 2026-09-22](https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/17/229.1302)

- NI 43-101: “"technical report" means a report prepared and filed in accordance with this Instrument and Form 43-101F1 Technical Report that includes, in summary form, all material scientific and technical information” [National Instrument 43-101 2026-09-22](https://www.bclaws.gov.bc.ca/civix/document/id/complete/statreg/86_2011)

- JORC Code (2012): “sets out minimum standards, recommendations and guidelines for Public Reporting in Australasia of Exploration Results, Mineral Resources and Ore Reserves” [Joint Ore Reserves Committee 2026-09-22](https://www.jorc.org/docs/JORC_code_2012.pdf)

- JORC Code Table 1 (drill-hole data): “Accuracy and quality of surveys used to locate drill holes (collar and down-hole surveys), points trenches, mine workings and other locations used in Mineral Resource estimation.” [Joint Ore Reserves Committee 2026-09-22](https://www.jorc.org/docs/JORC_code_2012.pdf)

The descriptions above are quoted from regulators, standard setters, law and accounting firms and industry bodies, with a link to each; none comes from a data room vendor. They describe common practice and are not a complete diligence list or legal advice for any transaction.

## What a mining deal data room costs

Totals use the lowest listed plan selected under the [storage and admin-seat rules](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#billing-basis), on monthly billing where the vendor offers it. Vendors are listed alphabetically; the order is not a ranking. Plans are not matched on features.

### A mining project sale or financing

Technical reports, resource models, drill-hole data, metallurgical test work and permits for one project, a small team, and a process of about a year.

For a mining project sale or financing (150 GB, four admins, twelve months), published plans from 7 vendors cover the inputs at $2,745–$376K for the months billed on monthly billing where offered; 5 of them state that external viewers are free and unlimited and 7 state that monthly billing is offered.

| Vendor | Plan that fits | Total (US$) | Billed months | External viewers | Monthly billing | Sign-up |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| [Ansarada](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-ansarada) | 50 MB Essentials | — No listed plan covers these inputs | 12 | not stated on the pages checked | not stated on the pages checked | online, without contacting sales |
| [CapLinked](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-caplinked) | Enterprise | — Starting price only · Enterprise plan | 12 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Clinked](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-clinked) | Virtual Data Room | — Starting price only · Virtual Data Room plan | 12 | not stated on the pages checked | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Digify](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-digify) | Business | US$24,000 — Business plan | 12 | not stated on the pages checked | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Dillien](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-dillien) | Standard (fixed monthly price) | US$8,317 — Standard (fixed monthly price) plan | 12 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [DocSend](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-docsend) | Advanced Data Rooms | — Quote required · Advanced Data Rooms plan | 12 | the vendor’s pages could not be read when checked | the vendor’s pages could not be read when checked | the vendor’s pages could not be read when checked |
| [Drooms](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-drooms) | Professional 0.5 GB | — No listed plan covers these inputs | 12 | count against the plan’s seats | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [FirmRoom](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-firmroom) | 10GB | US$263,940 — 10GB plan | 12 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Fordata](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-fordata) | LITE | US$375,569 — LITE plan | 12 | a stated quota per plan | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Papermark](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-papermark) | Data Rooms | US$2,745 — Data Rooms plan | 12 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Peony](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-peony) | Data Room | US$3,600 — Data Room plan | 12 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [SecureDocs](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-securedocs) | 12 Month Plan | US$3,000 — 12 Month Plan | 12 | stated as free and unlimited | not stated on the pages checked | online, without contacting sales |
| [SmartRoom](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-smartroom) | Special pricing, per transaction | — Listed price requires qualification · Special pricing, per transaction plan | — | not stated on the pages checked | not stated on the pages checked | a demo or sales contact is stated |
| [Virtual Vaults](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-virtual-vaults) | Standard | US$7,596 — Standard plan | 12 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | a demo or sales contact is stated |

The room inputs are illustrative and were fixed before any total was computed; no published source gives typical room sizes for this sector, and your room will differ. Prices are as published by each vendor on the date shown. Fit is decided on stated storage and admin seats only; security, features, support and suitability for any transaction are not assessed, and nothing here is a recommendation of any vendor.

## Vendors whose website names metals and mining

- [Ansarada](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-ansarada): “Mining” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.ansarada.com)

- [Firmex](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-firmex): “Mining” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.firmex.com)

- [Peony](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-peony): “Mining” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.peony.ink)

Each entry is that vendor’s own statement about itself, quoted with the page and date it was read. Being listed is not an endorsement and says nothing about how well a vendor serves the sector; a vendor that is not listed may still serve it.

## More on data rooms

All vendor prices and profiles: [how much a virtual data room costs](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html). Features each vendor states: [data room features](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-features.html). Other sectors: [Biotech and pharma](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-biotech.html) · [Medical devices and healthcare](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-healthcare.html) · [Real estate](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-real-estate.html) · [Metals and mining](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-mining.html) · [Oil, gas and energy](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-oil-gas.html) · [Renewables and infrastructure](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-renewables.html) · [Technology and software](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-technology.html) · [Financial services](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-financial-services.html) · [Manufacturing and industrials](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-manufacturing.html) · [Consumer and retail](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-consumer.html) · [Construction](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-construction.html) · [Education](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-education.html) · [Legal](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-law-firms.html) · [Government and public sector](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-government.html).

Deal Cost Index. Data: CC BY 4.0.
