---
title: "What does a data room for a public-sector deal cost?"
description: "Data room costs for government asset sales and concession tenders, the procurement rules that shape the room, and which vendors name the public sector."
site: Deal Cost Index
content_updated: 2026-09-22
license: CC BY 4.0
html: https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-government.html
---
[Virtual data rooms](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html) · Government and public sector

# What does a data room for a public-sector deal cost?

Public bodies use data rooms when they sell assets or state-owned companies and when they tender concessions and partnerships, and procurement rules usually require every bidder to see the same information at the same time.

Below: the transactions that use a data room in this sector and what goes into the room, in the words of regulators and advisers; what a room of that kind costs at every vendor that publishes prices; and the vendors whose own website names the sector.

## Transactions that use a data room

- “Digitalisation allows for more complete exchanges of information, such as through virtual data rooms, and greater transparency on the privatisation process towards stakeholders and the public.” [OECD, A Policy Maker’s Guide to Privatisation 2026-09-22](https://www.oecd.org/content/dam/oecd/en/publications/reports/2019/03/a-policy-maker-s-guide-to-privatisation_551d3a88/ea4eff68-en.pdf)

- “Appropriate relevant information should be provided to bidders through pre-bid conferences and a data room (in addition to the RFP).” [APMG PPP Certification Guide, ch. 6 2026-09-22](https://ppp-certification.com/sites/www.ppp-certification.com/files/documents/chapter-6-tendering-awarding-contract.pdf)

- “The Oklahoma Department of Transportation invites interested parties (“Proposers”) to provide responses to this RFP for the proposed sale of the Cowboy Sub a 22-mile segment of railroad” [Oklahoma Department of Transportation 2026-09-22](https://oklahoma.gov/content/dam/ok/en/odot/documents/cowboysub/data-room/cowboy-sub-rfp-final.pdf)

## What goes into the room

- “The data room is an important place to share information with potential buyers concerning the contracts, intellectual property information, employee information, financial statements, capitalisation, and more.” [OECD, A Policy Maker’s Guide to Privatisation 2026-09-22](https://www.oecd.org/content/dam/oecd/en/publications/reports/2019/03/a-policy-maker-s-guide-to-privatisation_551d3a88/ea4eff68-en.pdf)

- “The sale includes all rail facilities and rights-of-way as described in preceding subparagraph (additional details of assets will be included in the public data room)” [Oklahoma Department of Transportation 2026-09-22](https://oklahoma.gov/content/dam/ok/en/odot/documents/cowboysub/data-room/cowboy-sub-rfp-final.pdf)

- “The Department entered into an amended Track Lease and Operating Agreement (the “Track Lease”) with Stillwater Central Railroad, LLC dated as of January 1, 2013 (Attachment 5).” [Oklahoma Department of Transportation 2026-09-22](https://oklahoma.gov/content/dam/ok/en/odot/documents/cowboysub/data-room/cowboy-sub-rfp-final.pdf)

- “require bidders to accept the reissued version before releasing the data room and draft transaction documents.” [APMG PPP Certification Guide, ch. 6 2026-09-22](https://ppp-certification.com/sites/www.ppp-certification.com/files/documents/chapter-6-tendering-awarding-contract.pdf)

- “iv) Project assets. v) Procurement framework and timelines. vi) Instructions to bidders. vii) Requirements related to third parties. viii)Data room. ix) Environmental impact assessment (EIA) data.” [APMG PPP Certification Guide, ch. 5 2026-09-22](https://ppp-certification.com/sites/www.ppp-certification.com/files/documents/chapter-5-struct-draft-tender-contract.pdf)

- “Subsurface or latent geological conditions found on the Site or other Project Right of Way that were not contained in the site conditions report prepared for the Project” [U.S. Federal Highway Administration, Model P3 Core Toll Concessions Contract Guide 2026-09-22](https://www.fhwa.dot.gov/ipd/p3/toolkit/publications/model_contract_guides/core_toll_concession_0814/)

## Rules and standards that shape the room

- FAR 15.201(f) (equal release of acquisition information to prospective offerors, U.S. federal): “that information must be made available to the public as soon as practicable, but no later than the next general release of information” [Federal Acquisition Regulation 48 CFR 15.201(f) 2026-09-22](https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/48/15.201)

- Oklahoma Railroad Revitalization Act, 66 O.S. § 304 (state statutory sale process): “The Department is issuing this RFP and sales process (“Process”) in accordance with the Railroad Revitalization Act contained in 66 O.S. §§ 304 (A) et seq.” [Oklahoma Department of Transportation 2026-09-22](https://oklahoma.gov/content/dam/ok/en/odot/documents/cowboysub/data-room/cowboy-sub-rfp-final.pdf)

- APMG PPP Certification Guide (multilateral development bank PPP practice): “There should be clear protocols for access to and use of the data room (including Non-Disclosure Agreements, “NDAs”), and bidders should be required to agree to these.” [APMG PPP Certification Guide, ch. 5 2026-09-22](https://ppp-certification.com/sites/www.ppp-certification.com/files/documents/chapter-5-struct-draft-tender-contract.pdf)

- OECD Guidelines on Corporate Governance of State-Owned Enterprises (2024 revision): “if a government decides to divest SOEs, then good corporate governance, backed by high levels of transparency and integrity are important prerequisites for economically effective privatisation” [OECD Guidelines on Corporate Governance of State-Owned Enterprises 2026-09-22](https://legalinstruments.oecd.org/public/doc/323/323.en.pdf)

The descriptions above are quoted from regulators, standard setters, law and accounting firms and industry bodies, with a link to each; none comes from a data room vendor. They describe common practice and are not a complete diligence list or legal advice for any transaction.

## What a public-sector deal data room costs

Totals use the lowest listed plan selected under the [storage and admin-seat rules](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#billing-basis), on monthly billing where the vendor offers it. Vendors are listed alphabetically; the order is not a ranking. Plans are not matched on features.

### A public asset sale or concession tender

Asset registers, concession or sale terms, legal and financial due diligence reports and bidder information, a team from the public body and its advisers, and a process of about a year.

For a public asset sale or concession tender (60 GB, four admins, twelve months), published plans from 7 vendors cover the inputs at $2,745–$151K for the months billed on monthly billing where offered; 5 of them state that external viewers are free and unlimited and 7 state that monthly billing is offered.

| Vendor | Plan that fits | Total (US$) | Billed months | External viewers | Monthly billing | Sign-up |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| [Ansarada](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-ansarada) | 50 MB Essentials | — No listed plan covers these inputs | 12 | not stated on the pages checked | not stated on the pages checked | online, without contacting sales |
| [CapLinked](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-caplinked) | Enterprise | — Starting price only · Enterprise plan | 12 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Clinked](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-clinked) | Virtual Data Room | — Starting price only · Virtual Data Room plan | 12 | not stated on the pages checked | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Digify](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-digify) | Business | US$24,000 — Business plan | 12 | not stated on the pages checked | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Dillien](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-dillien) | Standard (fixed monthly price) | US$8,317 — Standard (fixed monthly price) plan | 12 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [DocSend](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-docsend) | Advanced Data Rooms | — Quote required · Advanced Data Rooms plan | 12 | the vendor’s pages could not be read when checked | the vendor’s pages could not be read when checked | the vendor’s pages could not be read when checked |
| [Drooms](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-drooms) | Professional 0.5 GB | — No listed plan covers these inputs | 12 | count against the plan’s seats | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [FirmRoom](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-firmroom) | 10GB | US$101,940 — 10GB plan | 12 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Fordata](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-fordata) | LITE | US$151,018 — LITE plan | 12 | a stated quota per plan | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Papermark](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-papermark) | Data Rooms | US$2,745 — Data Rooms plan | 12 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Peony](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-peony) | Data Room | US$3,600 — Data Room plan | 12 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [SecureDocs](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-securedocs) | 12 Month Plan | US$3,000 — 12 Month Plan | 12 | stated as free and unlimited | not stated on the pages checked | online, without contacting sales |
| [SmartRoom](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-smartroom) | Special pricing, per transaction | — Listed price requires qualification · Special pricing, per transaction plan | — | not stated on the pages checked | not stated on the pages checked | a demo or sales contact is stated |
| [Virtual Vaults](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-virtual-vaults) | Standard | US$7,596 — Standard plan | 12 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | a demo or sales contact is stated |

The room inputs are illustrative and were fixed before any total was computed; no published source gives typical room sizes for this sector, and your room will differ. Prices are as published by each vendor on the date shown. Fit is decided on stated storage and admin seats only; security, features, support and suitability for any transaction are not assessed, and nothing here is a recommendation of any vendor.

## Vendors whose website names the public sector

- [Ansarada](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-ansarada): “Government” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.ansarada.com)

- [CapLinked](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-caplinked): “Government & Defense · GovCloud” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.caplinked.com)

- [Clinked](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-clinked): “Government” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.clinked.com)

- [DFIN Venue](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-dfin-venue): “Government” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.dfinsolutions.com/products/venue)

- [Diligent (Data Rooms / Boards)](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-diligent): “State & Local Government” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.diligent.com)

- [Firmex](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-firmex): “Government & Infrastructure” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.firmex.com)

- [Papermark](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-papermark): “Government Document Distribution” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.papermark.com)

- [SecureDocs (Onit)](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-securedocs): “Government” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.onit.com/products/clm/securedocs/)

Each entry is that vendor’s own statement about itself, quoted with the page and date it was read. Being listed is not an endorsement and says nothing about how well a vendor serves the sector; a vendor that is not listed may still serve it.

## More on data rooms

All vendor prices and profiles: [how much a virtual data room costs](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html). Features each vendor states: [data room features](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-features.html). Other sectors: [Biotech and pharma](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-biotech.html) · [Medical devices and healthcare](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-healthcare.html) · [Real estate](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-real-estate.html) · [Metals and mining](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-mining.html) · [Oil, gas and energy](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-oil-gas.html) · [Renewables and infrastructure](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-renewables.html) · [Technology and software](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-technology.html) · [Financial services](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-financial-services.html) · [Manufacturing and industrials](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-manufacturing.html) · [Consumer and retail](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-consumer.html) · [Construction](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-construction.html) · [Education](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-education.html) · [Legal](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-law-firms.html) · [Government and public sector](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-government.html).

Deal Cost Index. Data: CC BY 4.0.
