---
title: "What does a data room for a consumer brand sale cost?"
description: "Data room costs for consumer brand and retail company sales, what buyers expect in the room, and which vendors name the sector."
site: Deal Cost Index
content_updated: 2026-09-22
license: CC BY 4.0
html: https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-consumer.html
---
[Virtual data rooms](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html) · Consumer and retail

# What does a data room for a consumer brand sale cost?

Consumer brand sales centre on the brand itself and the relationships around it: trademarks, supplier and retailer agreements, product-safety and labelling records, and financials.

Below: the transactions that use a data room in this sector and what goes into the room, in the words of regulators and advisers; what a room of that kind costs at every vendor that publishes prices; and the vendors whose own website names the sector.

## Transactions that use a data room

- “They help customers and clients distinguish goods or services of one company from another's, so they can be critical assets in company and business acquisitions and disposals.” [Gowling WLG 2026-09-22](https://gowlingwlg.com/en/insights-resources/articles/2022/key-trademark-considerations-m-a-transactions)

- “How FDA considerations impact food and beverage acquisitions” [Food Dive 2026-09-22](https://www.fooddive.com/news/how-fda-considerations-impact-food-and-beverage-acquisitions/560158/)

## What goes into the room

- “Brand assets to consider include: registered trademarks; unregistered logos or brands; domain names; social media accounts; advertising materials; and brand content (eg, website content).” [Gowling WLG 2026-09-22](https://gowlingwlg.com/en/insights-resources/articles/2022/key-trademark-considerations-m-a-transactions)

- “companies should identify the food facilities that manufacture, pack or hold food bound for the U.S. and seek inspection histories from U.S., state and international regulators.” [Food Dive 2026-09-22](https://www.fooddive.com/news/how-fda-considerations-impact-food-and-beverage-acquisitions/560158/)

- “Required documentation, such as a facility’s written food safety plan and records of corrective and” [Food Dive 2026-09-22](https://www.fooddive.com/news/how-fda-considerations-impact-food-and-beverage-acquisitions/560158/)

- “the buyer should ask the target for communications with FDA relating to any recalls in recent years.” [Food Dive 2026-09-22](https://www.fooddive.com/news/how-fda-considerations-impact-food-and-beverage-acquisitions/560158/)

- “The facility’s procedures governing recalls, product complaints, deviations, supplier qualification and other manufacturing and quality controls also should be evaluated.” [Food Dive 2026-09-22](https://www.fooddive.com/news/how-fda-considerations-impact-food-and-beverage-acquisitions/560158/)

## Rules and standards that shape the room

- FDA Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA) preventive controls: “FSMA also requires food facilities to implement preventive safety controls, including evaluating hazards that could affect food safety” [Food Dive 2026-09-22](https://www.fooddive.com/news/how-fda-considerations-impact-food-and-beverage-acquisitions/560158/)

- FDA food facility registration: “Facilities must renew their registrations every two years, and FDA has the authority to suspend registrations.” [Food Dive 2026-09-22](https://www.fooddive.com/news/how-fda-considerations-impact-food-and-beverage-acquisitions/560158/)

- FTC Franchise Rule / Franchise Disclosure Document: “an in-depth review of the Financial Disclosure Document (FDD) required by the FTC’s Franchise Rule .” [U.S. Federal Trade Commission 2026-09-22](https://www.ftc.gov/business-guidance/blog/2023/05/franchise-fundamentals-taking-deep-dive-franchise-disclosure-document)

The descriptions above are quoted from regulators, standard setters, law and accounting firms and industry bodies, with a link to each; none comes from a data room vendor. They describe common practice and are not a complete diligence list or legal advice for any transaction.

## What a consumer brand sale data room costs

Totals use the lowest listed plan selected under the [storage and admin-seat rules](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#billing-basis), on monthly billing where the vendor offers it. Vendors are listed alphabetically; the order is not a ranking. Plans are not matched on features.

### A consumer brand sale

Brand and trademark files, supplier and retailer agreements, product-safety records and financials, two admins, and a process of about half a year.

For a consumer brand sale (20 GB, two admins, six months), published plans from 8 vendors cover the inputs at $528–$39K for the months billed on monthly billing where offered; 5 of them state that external viewers are free and unlimited and 7 state that monthly billing is offered.

| Vendor | Plan that fits | Total (US$) | Billed months | External viewers | Monthly billing | Sign-up |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| [Ansarada](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-ansarada) | 20 GB | US$38,604 — 20 GB plan | 6 | not stated on the pages checked | not stated on the pages checked | online, without contacting sales |
| [CapLinked](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-caplinked) | Enterprise | — Starting price only · Enterprise plan | 6 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Clinked](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-clinked) | Virtual Data Room | — Starting price only · Virtual Data Room plan | 6 | not stated on the pages checked | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Digify](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-digify) | Team | US$3,000 — Team plan | 6 | not stated on the pages checked | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Dillien](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-dillien) | Standard (fixed monthly price) | US$4,158 — Standard (fixed monthly price) plan | 6 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [DocSend](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-docsend) | Advanced Data Rooms | US$1,800 — Advanced Data Rooms plan · last read 2026-08-27 | 6 | the vendor’s pages could not be read when checked | the vendor’s pages could not be read when checked | the vendor’s pages could not be read when checked |
| [Drooms](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-drooms) | Starter | — No listed plan covers these inputs | 6 | count against the plan’s seats | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [FirmRoom](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-firmroom) | 10GB | US$14,970 — 10GB plan | 6 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Fordata](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-fordata) | LITE | US$25,609 — LITE plan | 6 | a stated quota per plan | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Papermark](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-papermark) | Data Rooms | US$1,033 — Data Rooms plan | 6 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Peony](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-peony) | Business | US$528 — Business plan | 6 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [SecureDocs](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-securedocs) | 3 Month Plan | US$2,400 — 3 Month Plan | 6 | stated as free and unlimited | not stated on the pages checked | online, without contacting sales |
| [SmartRoom](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-smartroom) | Special pricing, per transaction | — Listed price requires qualification · Special pricing, per transaction plan | — | not stated on the pages checked | not stated on the pages checked | a demo or sales contact is stated |
| [Virtual Vaults](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-virtual-vaults) | Basic | US$3,652 — Basic plan | 6 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | a demo or sales contact is stated |

The room inputs are illustrative and were fixed before any total was computed; no published source gives typical room sizes for this sector, and your room will differ. Prices are as published by each vendor on the date shown. Fit is decided on stated storage and admin seats only; security, features, support and suitability for any transaction are not assessed, and nothing here is a recommendation of any vendor.

## Vendors whose website names consumer and retail

- [Ansarada](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-ansarada): “Consumer retail” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.ansarada.com)

- [Datasite](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-datasite): “Consumer Retail” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.datasite.com)

- [Intralinks](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-intralinks): “Consumer Retail” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.intralinks.com)

- [Peony](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-peony): “E-commerce & Consumer Brands” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.peony.ink/solutions)

Each entry is that vendor’s own statement about itself, quoted with the page and date it was read. Being listed is not an endorsement and says nothing about how well a vendor serves the sector; a vendor that is not listed may still serve it.

## More on data rooms

All vendor prices and profiles: [how much a virtual data room costs](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html). Features each vendor states: [data room features](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-features.html). Other sectors: [Biotech and pharma](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-biotech.html) · [Medical devices and healthcare](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-healthcare.html) · [Real estate](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-real-estate.html) · [Metals and mining](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-mining.html) · [Oil, gas and energy](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-oil-gas.html) · [Renewables and infrastructure](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-renewables.html) · [Technology and software](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-technology.html) · [Financial services](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-financial-services.html) · [Manufacturing and industrials](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-manufacturing.html) · [Consumer and retail](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-consumer.html) · [Construction](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-construction.html) · [Education](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-education.html) · [Legal](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-law-firms.html) · [Government and public sector](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-government.html).

Deal Cost Index. Data: CC BY 4.0.
