---
title: "What does a data room for a biotech or pharma deal cost?"
description: "Data room costs for biotech and pharma licensing, partnering and company sales, what goes in the room, and which vendors name the industry."
site: Deal Cost Index
content_updated: 2026-09-22
license: CC BY 4.0
html: https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-biotech.html
---
[Virtual data rooms](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html) · Biotech and pharma

# What does a data room for a biotech or pharma deal cost?

Biotech and pharma deals — licensing and partnering agreements as often as company sales — put clinical data, regulatory filings and the patent estate in front of a counterparty under strict confidentiality.

Below: the transactions that use a data room in this sector and what goes into the room, in the words of regulators and advisers; what a room of that kind costs at every vendor that publishes prices; and the vendors whose own website names the sector.

## Transactions that use a data room

- “Technical and commercial due diligence for pharmaceutical licensing, biotech M&A, and life science investments.” [Alacrita Consulting 2026-09-22](https://www.alacrita.com/our-services/due-diligence)

- “Evaluating in-licensing opportunities, acquisition targets, or partnership candidates.” [Alacrita Consulting 2026-09-22](https://www.alacrita.com/our-services/due-diligence)

- “Also relevant for pharma preparing assets for divestiture or out-licensing.” [Alacrita Consulting 2026-09-22](https://www.alacrita.com/our-services/due-diligence)

## What goes into the room

- “Systematic review of mechanism of action data, preclinical and clinical data, regulatory correspondence, CMC documentation, IP filings, and commercial materials” [Alacrita Consulting 2026-09-22](https://www.alacrita.com/our-services/due-diligence)

- “It may not match the clinical study reports, the agency correspondence, or the raw data, and we have seen it diverge from SEC filings as well.” [Alacrita Consulting 2026-09-22](https://www.alacrita.com/whitepapers/due-diligence-the-pinnacle-of-expertise-based-consulting)

- “Buyers should ensure that all data – especially clinical trial results, manufacturing records and regulatory submissions – is completed, recorded and accurate.” [International Bar Association 2026-09-22](https://www.ibanet.org/due-diligence-life-sciences-mergers-acquisitions)

- “Buyers should verify that the target holds valid and subsisting licences, marketing authorisations, clinical trial approvals, and pricing and reimbursement clearances for its products, as relevant.” [International Bar Association 2026-09-22](https://www.ibanet.org/due-diligence-life-sciences-mergers-acquisitions)

- “detailed consideration of licences in/out of IP rights to check for termination, change of control provisions, sublicensing and assignment rights.” [International Bar Association 2026-09-22](https://www.ibanet.org/due-diligence-life-sciences-mergers-acquisitions)

- “Chain of title gaps in licensed IP” [Alacrita Consulting 2026-09-22](https://www.alacrita.com/whitepapers/due-diligence-the-pinnacle-of-expertise-based-consulting)

## Rules and standards that shape the room

- ICH M4 Common Technical Document (CTD): “This guideline presents the agreed upon common format for the preparation of a well- structured Common Technical Document for applications that will be submitted to regulatory authorities.” [European Medicines Agency 2026-09-22](https://www.ema.europa.eu/system/files/documents/scientific-guideline/m4_step_5_ctd_for_the_registration_of_pharmaceuticals_for_human_use_-_organisation_of_ctd-en.pdf)

- ICH M4 CTD Modules 3-5: “Module 4. Nonclinical Study Reports The nonclinical study reports should be presented in the order described in Guideline M4S. Module 5. Clinical Study Reports” [European Medicines Agency 2026-09-22](https://www.ema.europa.eu/system/files/documents/scientific-guideline/m4_step_5_ctd_for_the_registration_of_pharmaceuticals_for_human_use_-_organisation_of_ctd-en.pdf)

- FDA IND content, 21 CFR 312.23: “(7) Chemistry, manufacturing, and control information. (i) As appropriate for the particular investigations covered by the IND , a section describing the composition, manufacture, and control of the drug” [21 CFR 312.23 2026-09-22](https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/21/312.23)

The descriptions above are quoted from regulators, standard setters, law and accounting firms and industry bodies, with a link to each; none comes from a data room vendor. They describe common practice and are not a complete diligence list or legal advice for any transaction.

## What a biotech or pharma deal data room costs

Totals use the lowest listed plan selected under the [storage and admin-seat rules](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#billing-basis), on monthly billing where the vendor offers it. Vendors are listed alphabetically; the order is not a ranking. Plans are not matched on features.

### A biotech licensing or partnering room

Clinical and preclinical data, regulatory filings and the patent estate for one asset, a small business-development team, and a partnering process of about a year.

For a biotech licensing or partnering room (50 GB, two admins, twelve months), published plans from 7 vendors cover the inputs at $1,056–$126K for the months billed on monthly billing where offered; 5 of them state that external viewers are free and unlimited and 7 state that monthly billing is offered.

| Vendor | Plan that fits | Total (US$) | Billed months | External viewers | Monthly billing | Sign-up |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| [Ansarada](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-ansarada) | 50 MB Essentials | — No listed plan covers these inputs | 12 | not stated on the pages checked | not stated on the pages checked | online, without contacting sales |
| [CapLinked](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-caplinked) | Enterprise | — Starting price only · Enterprise plan | 12 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Clinked](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-clinked) | Virtual Data Room | — Starting price only · Virtual Data Room plan | 12 | not stated on the pages checked | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Digify](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-digify) | Team | US$6,000 — Team plan | 12 | not stated on the pages checked | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Dillien](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-dillien) | Standard (fixed monthly price) | US$8,317 — Standard (fixed monthly price) plan | 12 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [DocSend](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-docsend) | Advanced Data Rooms | US$3,600 — Advanced Data Rooms plan · last read 2026-08-27 | 12 | the vendor’s pages could not be read when checked | the vendor’s pages could not be read when checked | the vendor’s pages could not be read when checked |
| [Drooms](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-drooms) | Starter | — No listed plan covers these inputs | 12 | count against the plan’s seats | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [FirmRoom](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-firmroom) | 10GB | US$83,940 — 10GB plan | 12 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Fordata](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-fordata) | LITE | US$126,068 — LITE plan | 12 | a stated quota per plan | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Papermark](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-papermark) | Data Rooms | US$2,065 — Data Rooms plan | 12 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Peony](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-peony) | Business | US$1,056 — Business plan | 12 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [SecureDocs](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-securedocs) | 12 Month Plan | US$3,000 — 12 Month Plan | 12 | stated as free and unlimited | not stated on the pages checked | online, without contacting sales |
| [SmartRoom](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-smartroom) | Special pricing, per transaction | — Listed price requires qualification · Special pricing, per transaction plan | — | not stated on the pages checked | not stated on the pages checked | a demo or sales contact is stated |
| [Virtual Vaults](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-virtual-vaults) | Basic | US$6,265 — Basic plan | 12 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | a demo or sales contact is stated |

### A biotech company sale

The full company: several programmes' clinical and manufacturing data, contracts and IP, a larger deal team, and a sale process of about nine months.

For a biotech company sale (80 GB, four admins, nine months), published plans from 7 vendors cover the inputs at $2,058–$151K for the months billed on monthly billing where offered; 5 of them state that external viewers are free and unlimited and 7 state that monthly billing is offered.

| Vendor | Plan that fits | Total (US$) | Billed months | External viewers | Monthly billing | Sign-up |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| [Ansarada](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-ansarada) | 50 MB Essentials | — No listed plan covers these inputs | 12 | not stated on the pages checked | not stated on the pages checked | online, without contacting sales |
| [CapLinked](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-caplinked) | Enterprise | — Starting price only · Enterprise plan | 9 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Clinked](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-clinked) | Virtual Data Room | — Starting price only · Virtual Data Room plan | 9 | not stated on the pages checked | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Digify](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-digify) | Business | US$18,000 — Business plan | 9 | not stated on the pages checked | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Dillien](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-dillien) | Standard (fixed monthly price) | US$6,238 — Standard (fixed monthly price) plan | 9 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [DocSend](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-docsend) | Advanced Data Rooms | — Quote required · Advanced Data Rooms plan | 9 | the vendor’s pages could not be read when checked | the vendor’s pages could not be read when checked | the vendor’s pages could not be read when checked |
| [Drooms](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-drooms) | Professional 0.5 GB | — No listed plan covers these inputs | 9 | count against the plan’s seats | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [FirmRoom](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-firmroom) | 10GB | US$103,455 — 10GB plan | 9 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Fordata](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-fordata) | LITE | US$150,689 — LITE plan | 9 | a stated quota per plan | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Papermark](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-papermark) | Data Rooms | US$2,058 — Data Rooms plan | 9 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [Peony](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-peony) | Data Room | US$2,700 — Data Room plan | 9 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | online, without contacting sales |
| [SecureDocs](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-securedocs) | 12 Month Plan | US$3,000 — 12 Month Plan | 12 | stated as free and unlimited | not stated on the pages checked | online, without contacting sales |
| [SmartRoom](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-smartroom) | Special pricing, per transaction | — Listed price requires qualification · Special pricing, per transaction plan | — | not stated on the pages checked | not stated on the pages checked | a demo or sales contact is stated |
| [Virtual Vaults](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-virtual-vaults) | Standard | US$7,596 — Standard plan | 12 | stated as free and unlimited | offered | a demo or sales contact is stated |

The room inputs are illustrative and were fixed before any total was computed; no published source gives typical room sizes for this sector, and your room will differ. Prices are as published by each vendor on the date shown. Fit is decided on stated storage and admin seats only; security, features, support and suitability for any transaction are not assessed, and nothing here is a recommendation of any vendor.

## Vendors whose website names biotech and pharma

- [Brainloop](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-brainloop): “Biotech Outlicensing” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://brainloop.com/en/use-cases/)

- [CapLinked](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-caplinked): “Biotech and Life Sciences” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.caplinked.com)

- [Datasite](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-datasite): “Healthcare & Life Sciences” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.datasite.com)

- [Dillien](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-dillien): “Whether you work in real estate, biotech, finance, or law, you can set up a room in seconds” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://dillien.com/data-room/features)

- [Drooms](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-drooms): “Life Sciences” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://drooms.com)

- [Firmex](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-firmex): “Biotech & Pharma” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.firmex.com)

- [Fordata](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-fordata): “Life Science/ Biotech” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://fordatagroup.com)

- [Ideals](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-ideals): “Our data room accelerates complex transactions across industries, from renewables to life sciences” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.idealsvdr.com/)

- [Intralinks](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-intralinks): “Life Sciences” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.intralinks.com)

- [Papermark](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-papermark): “Biotech & Pharma” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.papermark.com/virtual-data-room-use-cases)

- [Peony](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-peony): “Biotech & Pharma” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.peony.ink)

- [SecureDocs (Onit)](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-securedocs): “Pharmaceutical” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://www.onit.com/products/clm/securedocs/)

- [ShareVault](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html#vendor-sharevault): “Life Sciences” [Vendor site 2026-09-21](https://sharevault.com)

Each entry is that vendor’s own statement about itself, quoted with the page and date it was read. Being listed is not an endorsement and says nothing about how well a vendor serves the sector; a vendor that is not listed may still serve it.

## More on data rooms

All vendor prices and profiles: [how much a virtual data room costs](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr.html). Features each vendor states: [data room features](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-features.html). Other sectors: [Biotech and pharma](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-biotech.html) · [Medical devices and healthcare](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-healthcare.html) · [Real estate](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-real-estate.html) · [Metals and mining](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-mining.html) · [Oil, gas and energy](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-oil-gas.html) · [Renewables and infrastructure](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-renewables.html) · [Technology and software](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-technology.html) · [Financial services](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-financial-services.html) · [Manufacturing and industrials](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-manufacturing.html) · [Consumer and retail](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-consumer.html) · [Construction](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-construction.html) · [Education](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-education.html) · [Legal](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-law-firms.html) · [Government and public sector](https://dealcostindex.com/vdr-government.html).

Deal Cost Index. Data: CC BY 4.0.
